top of page

À la plage

Nice may be one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. I arrived this Côte d’Azur city by juddering bus and sit with my luggage on the pebbled beach, breathing a saltwater breeze. The still water reflects millions of fragments of light, all the way to the horizon. The same view that inspired, I imagine, Nice painter, Henri Matisse.

Looking down into a deep pool, I can see straight through to a school of silver fish nearly the length of my forearm. In the distance are a dozen or more candy-colored sails the size of my thumbnail.

I don't need a reason to linger here, but I am waiting to meet my host, Justyna. Although we haven’t met yet, Justyna and I share a mutual friend, Robby, who was kind enough to put us in contact. Like Robby, she is a musician, and I suspect that she will have the creative and spontaneous genius of an internationally traveled artist. I can't wait to exploring this seaside and it’s nightlife with someone my own age.

DSC_0050-Edit.jpg
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page