top of page

Goodbye Walla Walla, bonjour le monde

The journey to Iceland was stinky. Seriously, someone near me kept farting on the plane. At one point, half way through our flight, the smell even woke me up from a nap. Nonetheless, I am happy to be here, considering I made it to my gate just as they began pre-boarding.

The plane was cramped. There was considerably less leg-room compared to my last international flight to Australia, and all food was at an additional charge. I suppose that’s to be expected when you pay only $350 for a one-way ticket to Europe.

Iceland itself was pitch dark when I arrived. I imagine we flew over the Herðubreið mountain (the same mountain our plan was named after), but if we did it was indecipherable in the night. I did learn some interesting facts about Icelanders:

  • 30% of Iceland’s population holds a college degree

  • 50% of the population believes in elves.

I think my favorite part of Iceland, however, is this character: ð. Isn’t it adorable?

I’m finally on my connecting flight to Paris. It is early morning, and I look outside to see square plots of brown and green turn to petites maisons, turn to industrial buildings, turn to the landing strip, and little orange men are frantically waving their flashing lights to receive us.

Bonjour Paris <3

DSC_0035.jpg
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page