top of page

7 countries, 5 months, 3 seasons and 1 bag: packing list

I am the ultimate over-packer. I like to have many options for whatever weather or situation I may experience. After reading a number of travel blogs, however, I decided that traveling with a carry-on was essential. Traveling through 7 countries, I don’t want to risk my baggage being lost or stolen. A carry-on size means I can keep my luggage with me at all times. It also forces me to put a little more thought into what I absolutely NEED to bring and what I can survive without.

Although many travel nomads will tell you that a good backpack is your best friend, I decided to go with a carry-on size suitcase. I can’t stand wearing heavy backpacks for long periods of time. I’d much rather roll a suitcase, and I’ll be traveling through major cities most of the time, so mobility shouldn’t be too much of an issue. For more details about suitcases vs. backpacks, visit the savvy backpacker blog

But how do I pack for seven countries, five months and three seasons in one carry-on size bag? Here’s what saved me:

1. A good friend (thanks Madeline!!) to convince you that you really don’t need those high-heels, and

2. PACKING CUBES!

I found these eBags packing cubes through Pinterest, and they have been amazing space savers. I just roll my clothes up tightly (I also rubber-band them to keep everything tidy) and stack them in the cubes. Almost all of my clothing fit in one large-size cube. I fit three bulkier sweaters in the medium-sized cube, and my exercise gear, dri-fit shirts and socks fit in the small cube. I used a compression sack for my bulkiest item—a zip-up hoodie. After having so much success with the packing cubes, I decided to splurge and get the eBags pack-it-flat toiletries bag too. My toiletries, first-aid, medications, hair ties, etc. were floating around in plastic bags all over my suitcase, and this packing bag just kept everything flat and organized. It also has a handle and a hook that I can use to hang it over a door.

My biggest packing issue, however, was shoes. I plan to wear my boots on the plane, but my running shoes also take up a lot of space in my suitcase. I felt strongly that I needed both, so I wrapped my running shoes in a plastic bag and squeezed it in next to the large packing square. It meant that I had to get rid of a couple extra clothing items I had wanted to bring, but I think that I’ll use my running shoes more often then the dress and sweatshirt I took out.

So how did I narrow down my clothing selection? I started with a good idea of what I wanted to bring. I pulled everything out and laid it all out by type. I rolled everything up, rubber-banded them and started packing by priority. As my packing cubes started to fill up, I was left with a few items that I realized I didn’t really need. Here’s what I did bring:

Clothes:

  • 2 sweaters

  • 3 t-shirts

  • 3 tank-tops

  • 3 nice work shirts

  • 1 cardigan

  • 1 hoodie

  • 1 plaid button down

  • 1 pair of nice work pants

  • 1 pair of loose-fitting capris

  • 2 skirts (one colorful maxi and one mid-length black skirt for work)

  • 3 pairs of jeans (blue jeans, black jeans and loose fitting linen pants)

  • 1 bathing suit

  • 2 bras (black and white, plus one bandeau)

  • 8 pairs of socks (2 smartwool, a pair of slipper socks to wear with flats and 5 ankle socks)

  • 10 pairs of underwear

  • 1 pair of running shorts

  • 1 sports bra

  • 2 dri-fit running tops (short-sleeved and long-sleeved)

  • running shoes + superfeet insoles

  • supportive sandals

  • Haviannas (for hammans and hostel showers)

  • nice flats for work

  • boots

  • Patagonia coat

  • 1 pair of sunglasses

Toiletries:

  • toothbrush

  • toothpaste

  • razor

  • makeup

  • sm. face lotion (with SPF)

  • bath towel (quick dry)

  • lip balm

  • sanitary wipes

  • extra tissues

  • soap

  • travel size BB shampoo

  • travel size BB conditioner

  • brush

  • tampons

  • nail clippers

First –Aid:

  • Hydro-cortisol

  • Ibprofin

  • Cipro

  • Imodium

  • antiseptic

  • Benadryl

  • Band-aids and blister bandages (a MUST for me)

  • insect repellent

  • Purell

Travel and Work Documents:

  • 2 copies of travel documents (keep in different places)

  • original travel documents

  • folder + relevant mental health articles

  • 2 pens

  • moleskin journal

Electronics:

  • Nikon D60 + 200mm lens and camera charger

  • card reader and extra memory cards

  • 2 plug adapters

  • 1 electric converter 110v-220v

  • Kindle and charger

  • cell phone and charger

  • laptop and charger

Luggage:

  • carry-on suitcase

  • 3 storage cubes

  • 1 compression bag

  • 1 toiletries bag

  • 2 luggage locks

  • double cable lock

  • extra day bag

  • Longchamp purse

Misc.:

  • box of Luna bars

  • whistle

  • waterbottle

  • Morocco guidebook (Arabic/Berber phrase book)

DSC_0009.jpg
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
RECENT POSTS:
bottom of page